Our company Wheycation

Our vision

High-quality products instead of food waste: For a future with really good food.

Our mission

We don’t see waste products, but new and valuable raw materials: We develop healthy and tasty food by upgrading (upcycling) side streams of food production. By “healthy” we mean: natural and understandable ingredients, short list of ingredients, minimally processed, ingredients optimally tailored to the needs. By “tasty” we mean: natural and authentic taste.

Our purpose

We are «Impact Entrepreneurs». We are not primarily driven by financial profit for our company, but that the environment and society benefit equally from our solutions. We are helping to restart our food system through a regenerative and, if possible, circular way of producing and consuming, for a planet with a future.

Our corporate values

Love of adventure:
We are brave and active, think positively, leave our comfort zone and enjoy life.

Less is more:
We question existing processes and look for simple solutions, step by step, with intelligence and mindfulness.

Close to nature:
We are authentic, reliable and we walk the talk.

Our company history

We, Doris and Christian, are enthusiastic two-wheelers, CrossFit and outdoor enthusiasts and fans of healthy, natural, honest and above all enjoyable food.

We were looking for protein products for nutrition around our sporting activities that met our need for transparency, naturalness and balance. We came across the topic of whey in 2017 and unfortunately couldn’t find any products made from Swiss whey that we liked.

At the same time, we learned that over a million tons of whey in Switzerland does not end up in human nutrition, but in animal feed or the biogas plant. And this despite the fact that whey contains valuable whey proteins, vitamins and minerals. So we researched and decided to develop something out of this wonderful raw material.

Skepticism meets taste

Many around us were skeptical, especially when it came to taste. After trying it, however, they were mostly surprised at how great whey can taste. That only spurred us on and in 2018 we embarked on the adventure of setting up a company and developing products. In the same year we launched the first whey drink called “jomo shake”. In the course of the following year, we decided to restart and began with a complete overhaul of our business idea.

In 2020, our young company launched the Molke Shake in the berries and mango varieties, which has also been available at Migros since March 2021.

Sonja has been “officially” on board since May 2021 and will gradually take on responsibility for marketing and sales. But right from the very beginning, when the idea of using Swiss whey slowly grew into a business idea in 2017, Sonja was involved in the project.

Wood & field becomes Wheycation

Since we all have lots of ideas for more healthy and sustainable products made from whey and we want to better emphasize the aspect of regeneration, we have been operating under the new name and the umbrella brand Wheycation since autumn 2021.

At the same time we brought out a new product, the Recovery Shake Powder in the varieties Cacao, Berries and Exotic. In addition to the recovery functionality and the naturalness of the ingredients, the focus is also on the naturalness of the taste.

Further product lines are in the planning stage. We are also doing research together with the Bern University of Applied Sciences HAFL in order to expand our knowledge on the subject of whey and fermentation and to be able to present innovative products made from Swiss whey in the near future – and thus save as much whey as possible.

Unser Unternehmen Wheycation.

Unsere Vision

Hochwertige Produkte statt Food Waste: Für eine Zukunft mit echt guten Lebensmitteln.

Unsere Mission

Wir sehen keine Abfallprodukte, sondern neuartige und wertvolle Rohstoffe: Wir entwickeln gesunde und schmackhafte Lebensmittel durch Aufwertung (Upcycling) von Nebenströmen der Lebensmittelproduktion. Unter «gesund» verstehen wir: Natürliche und verständliche Zutaten, kurze Zutatenliste, minimal verarbeitet, optimal auf den Bedarf abgestimmte Inhaltsstoffe. Unter «schmackhaft» verstehen wir: Natürlicher und authentischer Geschmack.

Unser Purpose

Wir sind «Impact Entrepreneure». Uns treibt nicht in erster Linie der finanzielle Profit für unser Unternehmen an, sondern dass Umwelt und Gesellschaft im gleichen Masse von unseren Lösungen profitieren. Wir tragen zu einem Neustart unseres Food Systems bei, durch eine regenerative und möglichst kreislauffähige Art und Weise des Produzierens und Konsumierens, für einen Planeten mit Zukunft.

Unsere Unternehmenswerte

Abenteuerlust:
Wir sind mutig und aktiv, denken positiv, verlassen unsere Komfortzone und geniessen das Leben.

Weniger ist mehr:
Wir hinterfragen bestehende Abläufe und suchen einfache Lösungen, Schritt für Schritt, mit Intelligenz und Achtsamkeit.

Naturverbunden:
Wir sind authentisch, verlässlich und packen an.

Unsere Firmengeschichte

Wir, Doris und Christian, sind begeisterte Zweirad, CrossFit und Outdoor Enthusiasten und Fans von gesunden, natürlichen, ehrlichen und vor allem genussvollen Lebensmitteln.

Wir suchten nach Proteinprodukten zur Ernährung rund um unsere sportlichen Aktivitäten, welche unseren Bedarf nach Transparenz, Natürlichkeit und Ausgewogenheit entsprachen. Dabei stiessen wir im Jahr 2017 auf das Thema Molke und fanden leider keine Produkte aus Schweizer Molke, die uns schmeckten.

Gleichzeitig erfuhren wir, dass über eine Million Tonnen Molke in der Schweiz nicht in die menschliche Ernährung gelangt, sondern ins Tierfutter oder die Biogasanlage. Und dies, obwohl Molke wertvolle Molkenproteine, Vitamine und Mineralstoffe enthält. So forschten wir nach und entschlossen uns, etwas aus diesem wunderbaren Rohstoff zu entwickeln.

Skepsis trifft Geschmack

Viele in unserem Umfeld waren skeptisch, vor allem auch was den Geschmack betrifft. Sie waren nach dem Probieren aber meist überrascht, wie toll Molke schmecken kann. Das spornte uns nur noch mehr an und wir stürzten uns 2018 ins Abenteuer der Firmengründung und Produktentwicklung. Noch im selben Jahr brachten wir das erste Molkengetränk mit dem Namen «jomo shake» auf den Markt. Im Verlauf des Folgejahres entschieden wir uns zu einem Neustart und begannen mit einer kompletten Überarbeitung unserer Geschäftsidee.

Im Jahr 2020 lancierte unser junges Unternehmen dann den Molke Shake in den Sorten Berries und Mango, welcher seit März 2021 auch in der Migros erhältlich ist.

Sonja ist seit Mai 2021 «offiziell» als Mitarbeiterin mit an Bord und wird schrittweise die Verantwortung für Marketing und Vertrieb übernehmen. Aber bereits ganz am Anfang, als 2017 die Idee zur Nutzung der Schweizer Molke langsam zu einer Geschäftsidee wuchs, war Sonja im Projekt mit dabei.

Aus wood & field wird Wheycation

Da wir alle gemeinsam viele Ideen für weitere gesunde und nachhaltige Produkte aus Molke haben und wir den Aspekt der Regeneration besser betonen wollen, treten wir seit Herbst 2021 unter dem neuen Namen und der Dachmarke Wheycation auf.

Gleichzeitig brachten wir eine Produktneuheit heraus, das Recovery Shake Powder in den Sorten Cacao, Berries und Exotic. Der Fokus steht neben der Recovery Funktionalität und der Natürlichkeit der Zutaten auch in der Natürlichkeit des Geschmacks.

Weitere Produktelinien sind in Planung. Ausserdem forschen wir gemeinsam mit der Berner Fachhochschule HAFL, um unser Wissen zum Thema Molke und Fermentation zu erweitern und um in naher Zukunft innovative Produkte aus Schweizer Molke präsentieren zu können – und so möglichst viel Molke retten können.