Regeneration of the environment

Incredible amounts of resources are used to feed the world’s population. 25 percent of all greenhouse gas emissions come from agriculture, 70 percent of the fresh water is used for them and a third of all global energy is used for food production. At the same time, a third of the food produced is wasted and 20 percent of all deaths worldwide are directly linked to unhealthy diets. So we urgently need to produce in a more resource-efficient way and use the raw materials to make healthier food.

Every year, 2.8 million tons of avoidable food losses occur across all stages of the Swiss food chain. This produced but not consumed food leads to unnecessary CO2 emissions, loss of biodiversity and land and water consumption. Food waste generates 25 percent of the environmental impact of the entire diet in Switzerland, roughly the same as half of individual motorized traffic.

Pollution from wasting whey

Whey, the by-product of cheese production, is a front runner in terms of food loss and the resulting environmental pollution. 1.3 million tons of whey are produced in Switzerland every year. Whey contains very valuable ingredients. And yet only around 25 percent is used for food production in Switzerland. The rest mostly ends up in animal feed or the biogas plant.

This waste of whey is not only a burden on the environment, but often also a financial loss for the milk processing company. The recycling or disposal is often associated with costs for them, without being able to generate additional sales from it. Greater use of whey in food is made more difficult in Switzerland by the fact that two thirds of the total amount of whey is obtained in small, often decentralized cheese dairies and therefore requires a lot of transport. In addition, the fact that due to the variety of cheeses in Switzerland, the whey are also very different in quality – especially in taste. With today’s further processing processes, which are carried out in central systems and require a constantly large amount of whey quality that is always the same, this whey cannot be used.

Only 1 percent of the whey is processed by the cheese factories themselves into foods such as Molkenziger, ricotta or whey beverages, although that would make the most ecological sense and would also be an exciting additional revenue for the cheese factories. Fresh whey has many desirable taste properties, but processing often results in products that do not meet the taste of the majority or the options for processing, storage and marketing are lacking. In addition to the taste, we also see the problem in the lack of awareness of whey and its often bad reputation as a waste product in Switzerland.

What is whey upcycling?

Upcycling whey and other side streams of food production has huge potential. Upcycling is a process of material upgrading in which materials are converted into higher-quality materials. With upcycling related to food, raw materials are used as ingredients that would otherwise not be consumed by humans and are thus lost as food.

With new ideas, new technologies and a lot of educational work, we can upgrade whey to high-quality products, improve its taste, health value and reputation and ensure that it is also financially exciting to use whey.

In ten years we want to be responsible for a 1 percent reduction in the environmental impact of all Swiss food waste and make an important contribution to promoting the circular economy in Swiss food production. Circular economy is the sustainable way of doing business. It is based on the processes of nature, which always work in cycles. In the linear production processes that are still widespread today, raw materials are extracted, products are manufactured, sold, consumed and thrown away, which leads to environmental pollution. In the circular economy, the use of resources, waste, emissions and energy losses are minimized on the basis of four different strategies:

  • Regenerate: Improve natural ecosystems.
  • Limit: Less resource consumption per product.
  • Slow down: Less consumption and longer product life cycles through sharing, reusing, repairing and reconditioning.
  • Close: Recycling of no longer used products.

We aim for a step-by-step implementation with all four strategies. Our focus is initially on “limitation” by reducing the consumption of resources through the use of side streams. At the same time, we are involved in campaigns and in partnerships with other organizations to raise consumer awareness and encourage more conscious consumption. Wherever possible, we try to use few and recyclable resources and act locally in order to minimize transport routes.

We are also committed to regenerative agriculture. We invest part of our profits in projects that promote this type of «restorative» and resilient agriculture. So far, regenerative agriculture has not been tied to any guidelines, but it is very close to organic farming and, above all, takes local conditions into account. The aim is to create closed cycles and thus long-term sustainable and site-appropriate production systems, regenerate soil and ecosystems, produce healthy food and make a contribution to climate regulation.

Of course, we can – and must – improve in all areas. We do not claim to be perfect, but to keep moving in the right direction step by step. We question existing processes, look for feasible solutions, with intelligence and mindfulness. We invite you to take these steps with us for a future with really good food.

Sources

Frequently asked questions about the regeneration of the environment

We speak of food waste when food is not used for human consumption and this loss could be avoided. Whey is a very valuable raw material for human consumption and if it is not used as a food, it is a waste.

Whey is part of milk, a lot of energy has been invested in its production and milk production has a heavy impact on the environment. If it is not used as food, but used in some other way, for example in animal feed or in biogas plants for energy generation, this use can only generate a fraction of the environmental benefit that avoiding its loss brings with it.

Whey is part of milk and therefore not vegan, but vegetarian, as no animal rennet is used in the cheese production for our whey. Our products are ecologically sensible, because with them we avoid food losses.

The animal content of our products is limited to whey, which is produced in the cheese production process anyway and thus does not contribute to the increase in milk consumption. We also see sustainability in three dimensions: ecological, economic and social sustainability.

Not all vegan products are automatically sustainable. They too can pollute the environment or their producers can be paid unfairly. We try to live sustainability holistically in our company and with our products.

Sustainable use of our resources is very important to us and we have dealt very intensively with the topic of packaging in product development. There are a multitude of factors that we need to consider when choosing the packaging for our products.

These are, for example, the necessary product protection for the longest possible shelf life and stability during transport, the packaging systems at our production partners, the best coverage of the consumer needs of our potential customers and of course sustainability.These are, for example, the necessary product protection for the longest possible shelf life and stability during transport, the packaging systems at our production partners, the best coverage of the consumer needs of our potential customers and of course sustainability.

After considering all the factors, we decided on the current cups or bags. The cups are optimized compared to those of the competing products.

Our cups are made of completely separable materials, made of as little plastic as possible, stabilized with recycled cardboard and without an additional drinking attachment. The choice of packaging for the Recovery Shake Powder fell on the bags because they make do with minimal material consumption. But the packaging certainly still has a lot of potential for optimization!

We assure you that we are always working to improve. We are still at the very beginning of our journey and have to concentrate on a few things with which we can achieve as much as possible.

Regeneration der Umwelt

Um die Weltbevölkerung zu ernähren werden unglaubliche Mengen an Ressourcen eingesetzt. 25 Prozent aller Treibhausgas Emissionen kommen aus der Landwirtschaft, 70 Prozent des Frischwassers wird für sie gebraucht und ein Drittel der gesamten globalen Energie wird für die Lebensmittelproduktion eingesetzt. Gleichzeitig wird ein Drittel der produzierten Lebensmittel verschwendet und 20 Prozent aller Todesfälle weltweit werden mit ungesunden Ernährungsweisen in direkte Verbindung gebracht. Wir müssen also dringend ressourcenschonender produzieren und aus den Rohstoffen gesündere Lebensmittel herstellen.

Jährlich fallen über alle Stufen der Schweizer Lebensmittelkette 2.8 Millionen Tonnen vermeidbare Lebensmittelverluste an. Diese produzierten, aber nicht konsumierten Lebensmittel führen zu unnötigen CO2 Emissionen, Biodiversitätsverlust sowie Land- und Wasserverbrauch. Food Waste generiert 25 Prozent der Umweltbelastung der gesamten Ernährung der Schweiz, etwa gleich viel wie die Hälfte des motorisierten Individualverkehrs.

Umweltbelastungen durch und Verschwendung von Molke

Molke, das Nebenprodukt der Käseproduktion, stellt eine Spitzenreiterin bezüglich Lebensmittelverlust und resultierender Umweltbelastung dar. Jährlich fallen in der Schweiz 1.3 Millionen Tonnen Molke an. Molke enthält sehr wertvolle Inhaltsstoffe. Und doch werden in der Schweiz nur rund 25 Prozent für die Lebensmittelproduktion genutzt. Der Rest gelangt meist ins Tierfutter oder die Biogasanlage.

Diese Verschwendung von Molke stellt nicht nur eine Umweltbelastung dar, sondern oft auch einen finanziellen Verlust für die milchverarbeitenden Betriebe. Die Verwertung beziehungsweise Entsorgung ist für sie oft mit Kosten verbunden, ohne zusätzlichen Umsatz daraus erzielen zu können. Eine stärkere Verwendung der Molke in Lebensmitteln wird in der Schweiz dadurch erschwert, dass zwei Drittel der gesamten Molkenmenge in kleinen, oft dezentral gelegenen Käsereien und daher transportintensiv anfällt. Zusätzlich erschwert, dass durch die Käsevielfalt in der Schweiz auch die Molken sehr unterschiedlich in der Qualität sind – vor allem im Geschmack. Mit heutigen Weiterverarbeitungsprozessen, die in zentralen Anlagen vorgenommen werden und eine konstant grosse Menge in immer gleicher Molkenqualität bedingen, kann diese Molke nicht genutzt werden.

Nur 1 Prozent der Molke wird von den Käsereien selbst zu Lebensmitteln wie Molkenziger, Ricotta oder Molkegetränken verarbeitet, obwohl das ökologisch am sinnvollsten und auch ein spannender Zusatzumsatz für die Käsereien wäre. Frische Molke hat viele erwünschte Geschmackseigenschaften, aber durch die Verarbeitung entstehen oft Produkte, die nicht dem Mehrheitsgeschmack entsprechen oder es fehlen die Möglichkeiten zur Verarbeitung, Lagerung und Vermarktung. Nebst dem Geschmack sehen wir die Problematik auch am Mangel der Bekanntheit der Molke und ihrem oft schlechten Ruf als Abfallprodukt in der Schweiz.

Was ist Upcycling von Molke?

Upcycling von Molke und anderen Nebenströmen der Lebensmittelproduktion hat sehr viel Potenzial. Unter Upcycling versteht man einen Prozess der stofflichen Aufwertung, bei dem Materialien in höherwertige Materialien umgewandelt werden. Beim Upcycling bezogen auf Food werden Rohstoffe als Zutaten verwendet, die vom Menschen sonst nicht verzehrt würden und somit als Lebensmittel verloren gingen.

Mit neuen Ideen, neuen Technologien und mit viel Aufklärungsarbeit können wir die Molke zu hochqualitativen Produkten aufwerten, ihren Geschmack, ihren Gesundheitswert und ihren Ruf verbessern und dafür sorgen, dass es auch finanziell spannend wird, die Molke zu nutzen.

In zehn Jahren wollen wir für eine Reduktion um 1 Prozent des Umwelteinflusses des gesamten Schweizer Food Wastes verantwortlich sein und einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, die Kreislaufwirtschaft in der Schweizer Lebensmittelproduktion zu fördern. Kreislaufwirtschaft oder Circular Economy ist die nachhaltige Art des Wirtschaftens. Sie ist den Prozessen der Natur, die immer in Kreisläufen funktionieren, nachempfunden. In den heute noch verbreiteten linearen Produktionsprozessen werden Rohstoffe abgebaut, Produkte hergestellt, verkauft, konsumiert und weggeworfen, was zu Umweltbelastungen führt. In der Kreislaufwirtschaft werden Ressourceneinsätze, Abfall, Emissionen und Energieverluste auf Basis von vier verschiedenen Strategien minimiert:

  • Regenerieren: Verbesserung der natürlichen Ökosysteme.
  • Begrenzen: Weniger Ressourcenverbrauch pro Produkt.
  • Verlangsamen: Weniger Konsum und längere Produktlebenszyklen durch Teilen, Wiederverwenden, Reparieren und Wiederaufbereiten.
  • Schliessen: Recycling von nicht mehr verwendeten Produkten.

Wir streben eine schrittweise Umsetzung mit allen vier Strategien an. Unser Fokus liegt zuerst auf «Begrenzen», indem wir durch Nutzung von Nebenströmen den Ressourcenverbrauch reduzieren. Gleichzeitig engagieren wir uns mit Kampagnen und in Partnerschaften mit anderen Organisation für die Sensibilisierung von Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten und regen zu bewussterem Konsum an. Wo immer möglich versuchen wir wenig und recyclingfähige Ressourcen einzusetzen und lokal zu agieren um Transportwege zu minimieren.

Wir setzen uns zudem für die regenerative Landwirtschaft ein. Ein Teil unseres Gewinns investieren wir in Projekte, welche diese Art der «wiederherstellenden» und widerstandsfähigen Landwirtschaft fördern. Regenerative Landwirtschaft ist bisher an keine Richtlinien gebunden, steht aber dem Biolandbau sehr nahe und nimmt vor allem auf lokale Gegebenheiten Rücksicht. Ziel ist, dass geschlossene Kreisläufe und dadurch langfristig nachhaltige und standortgerechte Produktionssysteme entstehen, Boden und Ökosysteme regeneriert, gesunde Lebensmittel produziert und ein Beitrag zur Klimaregulation geleistet werden.

Natürlich können – und müssen – wir uns noch in allen Bereichen verbessern. Wir haben nicht den Anspruch, perfekt zu sein, aber uns Schritt für Schritt immer weiter in die richtige Richtung zu bewegen. Wir hinterfragen bestehende Abläufe, suchen umsetzbare Lösungen, mit Intelligenz und Achtsamkeit. Wir laden dich ein, diese Schritte mir uns zu gehen, für eine Zukunft mit echt guten Lebensmitteln.

Quellen

Häufige Fragen zur Regeneration der Umwelt

Wieso schreibt ihr, das Molke verschwendet wird, wenn sie ja für Tierfutter und Biogasanlagen gebraucht wird?

Von Lebensmittelverschwendung oder Food Waste spricht man, wenn Lebensmittel nicht für die menschliche Ernährung verwendet werden und dieser Verlust vermeidbar wäre. Molke ist ein sehr hochwertiger Rohstoff für die menschliche Ernährung und wenn man sie nicht als Lebensmittel nutzt, ist dies Verschwendung.

Molke ist Teil der Milch, in deren Gewinnung sehr viel Energie investiert wurde und deren Produktion die Umwelt stark belastet. Wird sie nicht als Lebensmittel genutzt, sondern anderweitig verwertet, zum Beispiel in Tierfutter oder in Biogasanlagen zur Energiegewinnung, so kann diese Nutzung nur ein Bruchteil des Umweltnutzens generieren, den die Vermeidung ihres Verlustes mit sich bringt.

Wie können eure Produkte nachhaltig sein, wenn sie nicht vegan sind?

Molke ist Teil der Milch und somit nicht vegan, jedoch vegetarisch, da in der Käseproduktion für unsere Molke kein tierisches Lab verwendet wird. Unsere Produkte sind ökologisch sinnvoll, da wir mit ihnen Lebensmittelverluste vermeiden.

Der tierische Anteil unserer Produkte beschränkt sich auf Molke, welche im Herstellprozess von Käse sowieso anfällt und so nicht zusätzlich zur Steigerung des Milchkonsums beiträgt. Zudem sehen wir Nachhaltigkeit in drei Dimensionen: Der ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeit.

Nicht alle veganen Produkte sind automatisch nachhaltig. Auch sie können die Umwelt stark belasten oder ihre Produzenten können unfair entlöhnt werden. Wir versuchen, Nachhaltigkeit ganzheitlich zu leben in unserem Unternehmen und mit unseren Produkten.

Ihr wollt ein nachhaltiges und kreislauffähiges Unternehmen sein, aber ihr generiert mit euren Produkten Verpackungsabfall. Könnt ihr eure Produkte nicht in Mehrwegverpackungen, plastikfrei oder komplett verpackungsfrei anbieten?

Uns liegt sehr viel an einem nachhaltigen Umgang mit unseren Ressourcen und wir haben uns in der Produkteentwicklung sehr intensiv mit der Verpackungsthematik beschäftigt. Es gibt in der Wahl der Verpackung für unsere Produkte eine Vielzahl von Faktoren, die wir berücksichtigen müssen.

Dies sind zum Beispiel der nötige Produktschutz für eine möglichst lange Haltbarkeit und Stabilität während des Transports, die Anlagen zum Abpacken bei unseren Produktionspartnern, die beste Abdeckung der Konsumbedürfnisse unserer potenziellen Kundinnen und Kunden und natürlich die Nachhaltigkeit.

Aufgrund der Abwägungen aller Faktoren haben wir uns für die aktuellen Becher beziehungsweise Beutel entschieden. Die Becher sind optimiert im Vergleich zu jenen der Konkurrenzprodukte.

So sind unsere Becher aus komplett trennbaren Materialien, aus möglichst wenig Kunststoff, stabilisiert mit Recyclingkarton und ohne einen zusätzlichen Trinkaufsatz. Die Wahl der Verpackung beim Recovery Shake Powder fiel auf die Beutel, weil sie mit minimalem Materialverbrauch auskommen. Aber bestimmt hat die Verpackung immer noch viel Optimierungspotenzial!

Wir versichern, dass wir stets daran arbeiten, uns zu verbessern. Wir stehen noch ganz am Anfang unserer Reise und müssen uns auf wenige Dinge konzentrieren, mit denen wir möglichst viel bewirken können.